Wright Ride Color Logo 2015 


The 12th Annual Wright Ride will be held on August 19, 2018! 

Register Here



Bicyclists Depart Downtown Oak Park MG 0588 for Web Photo by Rick Talaske





Net proceeds from the Wright Ride 

go towards supporting

local organizations. 

In 2017, $10,000 was donated

to the following:

Oak Park Regional Housing Center

Bikes N' Roses

West Town Bikes

Blackstone Bicycle Works

Frank Lloyd Wright Trust

Bike Illinois

Active Transporation Alliance

Amling's Cycle Holiday Toy Ride

benefiting Toys for Tots


The Oak Park Cycle Club thanks our generous 2018 sponsors and hopes that you will support them.

                     Wheel & Sproket - reduced                       bike Fix - reduced AAA logo  OPBC - reduced
CBOPRF reduced  
Old School Logo TBST Logo Color MS - reduced



  WJ logo new2005 color 
  BNR Logo WTB Logo   

Why Wright?

The Wright Ride is named for one of Oak Park's most famous citizens, Frank Lloyd Wright, who spent the first 20 years of his 70-year career here, building numerous homes that still stand in the community, including his own. He lived and worked in the area between 1889 and 1909. His earliest work can be found in this area, including the Winslow House in neighboring River Forest. Oak Park boasts many examples of the very first Prairie Style houses, as well as Wright's world-renowned Unity Temple, which was built between 1905-1908 and reopened in July 2017 after a 2 year $25M renovation.

There were several well-known architects and artists who worked in Wright's Oak Park Studio. Richard Bock, William Eugene Drummond, Marion Mahony Griffin, and Walter Burley Griffin each contributed to Wright's work during this time. Innumerable buildings in Oak Park were built by other Prairie School architects such as Tallmadge and Watson, George W. Maher, Robert C. Spencer, John Van Bergen, and E.E. Roberts. Additionally, there are various architectural styles of the late 19th and early 20th centuries located throughout the town.